Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
  Member Resources  
New Hampshire Members Awarded Liberty Mutual’s Firemark Award
Connecticut Members Reach Out to Young Cancer Patients
Philly Fire Fighter Dies in Line of Duty
New York City and 8 Labor Unions Reach Tentative Contract
Fire Fighters Question Governor’s Failed Leadership During Ferguson Unrest
December 3 Marks 15th Anniversary of the Worcester 6
Memphis Fire Fighters Donate $12,000 to Local Cancer Charity

More Headlines
Contact Congress!
Enter Zip code:
Action Center
First Alert Injury Reporting System
We encourage ALL members to help improve fire fighter safety by sharing injury experiences so that all fire fighters and emergency responders can help prevent unnecessary injuries and fatalities. Please fill out one of these reports when suffering a injury. All reports are voluntary, non-punitive, and secure with the goal of improving firefighter safety.
Firefighter Legislation
Firefighter legislation in PA and our position on each bill as well as the status in the General Assembly
IAFF Local Newswire
Join the Newswire!
Updated: Jul. 06 (21:10)
Cherokee Trail Brush Fire
South Metro Firefighters IAFF LOCAL 2086
Chatridge 2 Hot Spots
South Metro Firefighters IAFF LOCAL 2086
Whitaker Dr. Structure Fire
South Metro Firefighters IAFF LOCAL 2086
IAFF Center of Excellence
Suncoast Firefighters
Lawton CBA 2019-2025
Professional Fire Fighters of Oklahoma
Enid CBA 2019-2020
Professional Fire Fighters of Oklahoma
Richard Jones Award

 The Richard Jones Award is presented in honor of McKeesport Firefighter's former, long-time Secretary-Treasurer Richard Jones. Richard spent decades as a union officer giving countless hours of time to his brothers and sisters. This award was named in his honor to repay that devotion after passing away shortly after retirement. The accomplishments of his time and efforts are still felt here today.

This honor is given each year by the membership of the union. Awardee's are voted on by the membership. The requirements for the award are a citizen that assists the community, the Local (McKeesport Firefighter's I.A.F.F. Local #10), and/or the fire department. The award has been distributed since 2004, and has been awarded to four outstanding local citizens. You can read more about them in this section just click on the year for the bio of the award winners.

2017 Richard Jones Award
Jul 07, 2017
2013 Award
Aug 18, 2014
The 2013 Richard Jones recipient is Jim Cerqua.
2012 Award
Aug 28, 2012

The 2012 Richard Jones Award recipient is Craig Anlauf.

2011 Award
Aug 28, 2012

The 2011 Award Recipient is Robert "Bob" Reist.

2010 Award
Sep 12, 2010
2010 Award Recipient - Diana Elias
2009 Award
Sep 12, 2010
2009 Award Recipient - Cheryl Kubitz
2008 Award
Jul 10, 2009
2008 Award Recipient - Pastor Douglas McCracken

2007 Award
Apr 12, 2009

Dee Connors - 2007 Award Recipient

Dee is a great friend to all of the firefighter's in McKeesport making frequent trips to the fire station, usually once a week to check on the firefighter's on duty. Her concern for our safety and well-being is outstanding. She regularly brings pies with her for the firefighter's, which have had a profound effect on all of the firefighter's hearts....and stomachs.

Dee has a tremendous sense of dedication to the community serving on the McKeesport Joint Task Force, McKeesport Democratic Committee, and the McKeesport Zoning Board. Dee is also a member of the Renzie Park Senior Center. She can often be found at any community event ready to lend a hand.

On behalf of the McKeesport Firefighter's, we want to say......THANK YOU!!!

 Pictured left to right- Jeff List, Rhoda Jones, Dee Connors, Nate Hite

2006 Award
Jan 06, 2008

Dorothy has been our friend for many years. In the mid 1990's, Dorothy made the fire department's first Sparky the Fire Dog costume to help us teach the children and the public, fire prevention. As recent as 2006 Dorothy made the fire department two new Sparky the Dog cotumes, because the older costume had become worn due to usage. She has cotinued to help not only help us, the firefighters, but children as she has done day in day out through her career.

Dorothy is a Seargent with the City of McKeesport Crossing Guards, and can be found on most mornings on the corner of Sumac and Beaver Streets. She has been assisting the children in the community for years through her service. additionally, Dorothy serves on the Weed and Seed committee and the International Village Committee, which brings the community it's much beloved food festival in the month of August.

Thank you Dorothy for your many years of dedicated service.

2005 Award
Dec 17, 2007

Mike Joyce - 2005 Award Recipient

Mike is a local restaurant and tavern owner who has been a supporter of the McKeesport Firefighter's for a countless number of years. Mike is the owner and manager of the Viking Lounge, located on Versailles Ave. in McKeesport, which is the location of the McKeesport Firefighter's Union and Pension Fund's Annual Pension Party. Mike currently serves on the McKees Point Palisades and Performing Arts Commission. Mike has always been there to lend a hand to the firefighter's and the community when needed. Mike's son-in-law Jim Shields, currently serves on the department as a Captain and his brother-in-law, Ron (Lebo) Liberatore is a retired firefighter.

Thanks Mike for all of the years of kindness you have given us.

2004 Award
Dec 17, 2007

Under Construction!!!!

Page Last Updated: Jul 07, 2017 (02:27:18)
McKeesport Firefighters
Copyright © 2020, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

594562 hits since Jul 25, 2011

Top of Page image